Beaufort House: A Gem in Asheville

I’ll start this piece out by just getting to the point: I love Beaufort House. There. I said it. This B&B in Asheville, North Carolina deserves awards.

I pulled up to Beaufort House, a coral-colored Queen Anne Victorian style building shaded on the edges by draping tree limbs and crawling ivy, in the middle of the afternoon. Shown three rooms for the picking, I chose a newer room downstairs, which is an extension on the home’s old food pantry, but not without taking with me an imprint of one of the other rooms I was shown.

The Rose Room not only includes a bathroom bigger than bedrooms I’ve seen in New York City, but Charlton Heston, who used to own and live in Beaufort House with his wife, used to sleep in the Rose Room. Folklore has it that marks from his burning cigar ashes have scarred the wooden floors near the teal tile framed fireplace. It would have been a nice room to stay in, but the room I eventually chose, the Arbor Room, had a jacuzzi bathtub and a private deck. Jaccuzi bathtub and private deck trumped history for me. I was hot and exhausted. You can’t blame me.

The room was great, but the entire inn is really what’s great…the inn in its entirety. Social hour each late afternoon is accompanied by wine-pourings. Too many glasses of red wine later, I retired to my room to just skip dinner and sleep after having chatted for hours with a fun music-loving mom from Nashville. This is how wine socials at inns should be. You should meet new people. You should drink with them. You should trade email addresses with them at breakfast the next morning after you’re served Morning Cake, sweet and delicious Citrus Crepes (topped with orange zest sugar), juice, coffee, and tea.

And Beaufort House is how B&Bs should be. You should feel comfortable in someone else’s home. You should get to know that person who owns that home—you should want to get to know them. You should feel full, clean, welcomed, and liked. And that’s how I felt at Beaufort House. And I’m guessing that’s how you’ll feel too when you stay there during your next Asheville visit.

By: Elizabeth Seward, Photos By: Ben Britz

2 thoughts on “Beaufort House: A Gem in Asheville

  1. Hey guys! Thanks for the shout-out! There are so-o-o many things you could have said and I’m so-o-o grateful for “fun music-loving mom from Nashville.” Here’s hoping that our paths cross again one day…

  2. Any time, Glenda! We loved meeting you and chatting with you. Hope the rest of your trip was great and that our paths will line up again!

Leave a Reply

