Gorilla Coffee: Park Slope, Brooklyn

My first interaction with Gorilla Coffee was, who’d figure, with the coffee. My roommate kept the red and black bag, completed with a gorilla face stencil, in our freezer during the first couple of weeks I lived in this apartment. Ok, well, he still keeps the stuff around. Nothing has changed in that department. So I tried the coffee. I won’t get into how good it was. I mean, it was good, but more importantly, it was strong. It kept me wired all day and my interest was piqued enough to head over to the Park Slope coffee shop.

The shop: Smallish. Cafeteria-esque. Maps of the world circa 2nd grade classroom pull=down vinyl hanging on the wall. A merchandise corner (Gorilla face on tee, anyone?) is near the front of the room. And there are incredibly tasty treats.

What the shop is good for: Meeting a friend for coffee, working on a lunch break, getting cracked out of your mind (legally) and making your colleagues wonder what the fuck is up with you.

By: Elizabeth Seward, Photos By: Elizabeth Seward and Katie DeRogatis

Leave a Reply

