ABOUT

The Anti Tourist is a collective travel journal with many contributors from all over the world. Here are just a few:

Elizabeth Seward, Founder and Editor-in-Chief.

Elizabeth Seward’s writing and photography have been published with National GeographicDiscoveryCountry LivingMarie ClaireAolGood HousekpeeingCosmopolitanWoman’s Day, and many other online and print publications. She founded and is Editor-in-Chief for The Anti Tourist – a travel website dedicated to off-the-beaten-path stories. Her creative nonfiction work often mixes introspection and extrospection while drawing from her experiences both abroad and at home.

A singer, songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist, Elizabeth has performed at South By Southwest and CMJ. As a musician, she has appeared in The New York Times, Spin, Current TV, Alternative Press, The Hype Machine, and The Deli. She accompanied Augusten Burroughs (author of Running with Scissors), Tegan Quin (Tegan and Sara), Colin Frangicetto (Circa Survive), and Stephen Christian (Anberlin) on stage in 2008 as a part of the Spin.com series, Liner Notes. During the year of 2010, she wrote, recorded, and released a new song every week. Her music has appeared in commercials, short films, and feature films.

You can follow her writing also on aworldandaway.com and elizabethseward.com.

Ben Britz, Assistant Editor/Writer. I grew up where most people don’t, in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula on the shores of Lake Superior. It was an amazing place to grow up, a million miles from anywhere, with some of the most striking vistas and a surprisingly happening music scene. While it gave me a lifelong appreciation for nature and music, the isolation gave me the itchiest foot and the most delirious cabin-fever, and as soon as I was 18 I jetted out, moved to Germany and from there, traveled all over Europe with just a backpack. I haven’t stopped traveling since, and I quickly realized that my methods—sleeping in bus stations or under the stars, finding little-known rural locales, and taking advice from only the most wild-eyed individuals—introduced me to so many beautiful places and people and experiences you can only have when you stray that far from the beaten path. Returning to the States after a year in Europe, I went to University of Michigan to earn a quick BA in Comparative Literature, making sure to take the summers to satisfy my wanderlust. I now call Brooklyn my temporary home, escaping whenever and to wherever possible, making music, writing, and dreaming of everywhere I want to go.

6 thoughts on “ABOUT

  1. Elizabeth, Ashley and Megan: I stumbled upon your site and was thrilled to see familiar faces! It mind sound dumb, but I’m relieved that you three have done such great things since school, it makes me proud. I look forward to Elizabeth’s performance this summer. Take care! Ashley Casto

Leave a Reply

