Swizz of NYC: Fondue Heaven


Fondue is officially my favorite way to eat food, thanks to Swizz-a jaw dropping restaurant in New York City. I feel as though I just went to Heaven and came back to write about it. In reality, I just went to west 53rd St. in Manhattan and had possibly the most delicious meal ever.

Swizz is an eloquent dining haven. Decorated with gorgeous photographs from all over the world (the Franz Joseph “Glacier” piece next to my table was absolutely beautiful), the restaurant is delicate and unique simultaneously. The light jazz music playing in the background was calming and did nothing other than further the classy, yet comfortable, atmosphere of the place.

The Swiss certainly did something right when they invented Fondue. I was first served the Cheese Fondue Provencale with fresh herbs and cubes of bread. My taste buds rejoiced. The herbs in this cheese are melted together flawlessly and provide for a luscious eating experience. After obsessing over the bread cubes, I was brought broccoli, mushrooms, and apples to try in this delicious cheese. PERFECTION is the only word I can use to describe all of these combinations-but particularly the most unlikely marriage of apple and cheese. Who knew apples and cheese could taste so wonderful together? I then tried the air dried beef. All that I can say about that selection is WOW. You MUST try it.

I then tried the Fondue Chinoise. Initially, I was perplexed by this set up. I was brought out thinly sliced and still raw veal, beef, shrimp, and vegetables. Three dipping sauces accompanied this platter: A sour cream and herb, Curry, and BBQ. A fondue pot filled with chicken broth sat in between the platters and the waiter explained that the meats and vegetables are cooked in the boiling broth within only seconds. So just in case you’ve ever wanted to be your own chef at a restaurant-your perfect opportunity lies in Swizz. All of the sauces were amazing…BUT…the BBQ….Oh my. It was unspeakably great.

All of this was accompanied by my new favorite white wine (thanks to my waiter’s recommendation): Austria’s Gruner Veltliner.

I was nearly painfully full from the impeccable meal when my lovely waiter suggested that I save room for the Toblerone chocolate fondue with fresh fruits (and marshmallow). Just in case you have never had Toblerone chocolate before-allow me to enlighten you: it is some of the most mouth watering chocolate on the planet. At Swizz, they melt this chocolate and allow you to dip melon, pineapple, pear, strawberry, and banana in the liquid goodness.

The food was downright spectacular. On top of that, the staff were among the friendliest people I have ever encountered in New York City. They were all incredibly helpful and polite. Swizz is intimately personal with some outdoor space as well as a very cozy bar and wine cave downstairs. And to think…all of this hedonism is relatively healthy when you consider the array of veggies and fruits and untouched meats. If you’re going to spend any time in Times Square or the theater district of NYC, don’t waste your time eating anywhere else. To my knowledge, every other restaurant in the vicinity pales in comparison to Swizz.

2 thoughts on “Swizz of NYC: Fondue Heaven

  1. I have been looking for a great fondue place in NYC! I just moved here and haven’t had a chance to scout one out yet, so thanks! I’m gonna check this place out.

Leave a Reply

